I shall call you the lemonade quilt

10 Oct

Because you know that whole cliche, when life hands you lemons, make lemonade? That’s this quilt for me. For some unknown reason, quilting this sucker has been much harder than my other quilts. I think it might be because I’m using the plain orange background, and it’s a lot easier to see the quilting lines than it is to see them on the busy backing fabric I’m used to.

I started things off with grid-ed quilting lines on the top, got frustrated, and decided to just make them random. So the top about 1/3 of the quilt has grids, the bottom is just random lines. I kinda like it!

 

And when deciding on the binding, Andy and I thought it would be fun to use the leftover squares from the layer cake, cut it up in strips, and make a super cute (although a bit busy) binding.

Char got her little nose stuck in there to check it out. She seems to approve 🙂

On to trimming the quilt and sewing on the binding!

One Response to “I shall call you the lemonade quilt”

  1. andy October 10, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    enough blogging, onto the work!! Wippooooshhhh *cracks whip* 🙂 Looks awesome, Angela!! Sorry it’s been the biggest PITA yet… ❤

Leave a Reply

