The Fastest Quilt Top EVER

9 Aug

This has to be a record for me- two sewing sessions, minimal cutting, and I’ve already finished my quilt top. I am now going to profess my love for the precut fabric packs. I really hate cutting fabric, so it takes the least fun part of the quilting process away. The Zoo Alphabet was a layer cake I bought from Fat Quarter Shop. They seem to be out of them now- looks like I got in just in time! While I’m gushing, I’m going to gush about the awesomeness that is the Fat Quarter Shop. Their selection is amazing, they ship quickly, and they have great customer service. (This is my review, by the way. I’m not being paid or compensated by the Fat Quarter Shop to sing their praises)

I LOVE the fact that I made this quilt without a strict pattern. Besides being way easier to not have to worry about corners matching up, I think it just looks so cute. Since it’s such a busy print, I figure a busy pattern would be fun too. My husband told me last night when he got home that it’s his favorite quilt top I’ve done!

And- born somewhat out of necessity, there’s one fun, wonky block. The grid print of the animals was crooked in one of them, so I improvised.

I’m going to visit Andy in a few weeks (YAY!), so we’re going to figure out what sort of backing and binding to put on this guy.

2 Responses to “The Fastest Quilt Top EVER”

  1. andrea August 9, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Lovin’ it so far!! Can’t wait to figure out what to do on the back and the binding! Thanks, Speedy Kaskel! ♥

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back on the machine « She is a jack of all trades - September 27, 2011

    […] I took a brief break in sewing due to the massive amount of travel I’ve been up to this month. But I’m putting together the back of the oh-so-cute Happy Zoo Animal quilt. […]

Leave a Reply

