I’m back… with a string quilt!

11 Jun

I’m back from a long blogging vacation with two new quilts- this is my most favorite quilt EVER. I made it for a friends birthday, and I wanted to keep it! In fact, once I’ve recovered from the tediousness of cutting and sewing this much fabric together, I’ll probably make one for myself.

This was a collaborative gift from a group of friends- everyone picked out fabric that they loved, or that represented something about themselves, sent it to me, and I did the sewing. It also happens to be the biggest quilt I’ve ever made- it ended up being 5 blocks wide, 6 blocks long, and the blocks were 12×12 before being sewn.

I do love the way string quilts look, but man, it took a lot of cutting. All this fabric was cut in 2.25 inch strips, arranged with care to not include too many of the same fabrics next to each other, sewn together in 12 inch squares, then each of those squares sewn together. I used all the fun patterns my friends sent me and supplemented with scraps from my own stash.

The front… (click on it to view the details, full size. You can see my two top choices of fabrics in there- the University of Florida Gator print, and the black print with wiener dogs wearing cute sweaters!)

The back:

The binding:

The front and back together:

And as always, my favorite part of quilting….

 

Next up…. a cute little baby quilt (way easier to manage!)

5 Responses to “I’m back… with a string quilt!”

  1. andrea June 11, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    That’s a gorgeous quilt and you are SO VERY TALENTED!! What a lucky birthday girl!

  2. Katy June 12, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    That is amazing!! You are so talented!! And Claire just spoke her first words, actually sentence, I believe it was….”I want a string quilt with my weekly fabrics on it” or it might have been “My mommy needs to learn to sew like Aunt Angela” I’m not quite sure how to interpret “baaaa-aaae-eeeeeeeee (insert giggle)” yet.

    • sheisajackofalltrades June 12, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

      well, I can’t tell her no, can I? 🙂

      • Katy June 17, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

        She does seem to have that power on people 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wonky Log Cabin block « She is a jack of all trades - October 16, 2011

    […] had so much fun making my string quilt- I’m a fan of quilting that is a departure from really traditional fabrics and patterns. […]

Leave a Reply

