A Retro Christmas Quilt

28 Dec

While strolling the aisles of Joann Fabric recently, I saw this, the Alexander Henry Retro Christmas Fabric. And I had to have it.

I bought it and actually built the quilt around it. I made it for my mom, who loves Christmas more than most things. My one challenge to making it was that I wanted the back to be really Christmas-y, but the front to be something she could keep out year round. So I settled with 8 different shades of green, 4 whites, and 4 yellows. That’s what was going on in this formula writing back a few weeks ago.

And here’s the front:

With a pieced backing of some pieces from the front:

And with some festive lime green binding:

And last but not least, some Charlotte action…. her admiring the final product, after sitting all over it while I sewed on the binding. She certainly makes it more difficult to work….. but she’s just too cute.

One Response to “A Retro Christmas Quilt”

  1. Ashley December 28, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    ah ha! i see a kappa quilt in the corner. i need to finish mine! maybe this will inspire me.

    the quilt is super cute. i bet your mom loved it and hasn’t put it down!

Leave a Reply

