Hm. Lessons learned, chapter one

1 Oct

So I figured that learning how to quilt would be quite a process. I was hoping I’d be able to make it through this first one without too many “oops” moments. But I just got to my first.

I made the mistake of buying all the fabric I needed upfront, before I got my full pattern and instructions. And I didn’t buy enough of the backing fabric. And I love the backing fabric… it’s this super cute umbrella fabric.

I’m not short by very much- probably 2 inches on one side and about 5 inches on the other side. There are two solutions I’ve come up with.

1- buy new backing fabric

2- fudge it and figure out a way to use it.

I’m going with option two. I LOVE the fabric- it’s really the whole inspiration behind the quilt in the first place, and I don’t want to replace it. It ties in perfectly with the front colors. And it’s adorable. So I’m going to fudge it and make it work. I actually bought all my fabric before getting the pattern, so I have a lot of extra of my front fabrics. Funny how things work, huh? So I’m going to do a little patchwork on the back. I found this as a fun inspiration, courtesy of Claire’s Chaotic Corner. Which is really funny, considering the baby I’m making this for is going to be named Claire. I consider that quite the coincidence 🙂

So- important lesson learned for quilting. Wait until you figure out what you’re going to be sewing before buying fabric willy-nilly

3 Responses to “Hm. Lessons learned, chapter one”

  1. Ashley October 1, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    I wouldn’t consider this a mess-up at all. On bigger quilts you will always have to piece the back because fabric just doesn’t come wide enough. You could even do a full row of the same blocks that are on the front.

    You’re a few steps away, but don’t forget to hand sew to the back a little fabric label/signature with a fabric pen.

  2. quiltonadime November 5, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    I teach a basic quilters class in my area. The blog stuff is all new to me but the ladies wanted me to try! ugh. I think you did a great job. As a tip I always tell my students to buy fabric by the yard above what they need. When you go back the fabric may be gone or a different dye lot. When your new and even if you have done this over 20 years you sometimes have to start again or you cut mystery shape! The little extra helps and as you found out you can use it to make a creative backing. If you have small leftovers you make pillows, scrap quilts, fabric postcards and artist trading cards… the list is endless.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recycling « She is a jack of all trades - October 3, 2010

    […] Oct I found a solution to my fabric shortage. As Ashley pointed out in the comments, I will usually have to piece together quilts anyway, since […]

Leave a Reply

