Woohoo! It looks cool now!

20 Sep

Well, I neglected to bring my camera to my quilting class to track my progress, but this is what I have finished now- and it actually is starting to look like a quilt!

Although the process of putting together all the blocks was pretty easy, it was time consuming because it requires a lot of attention to detail. I laid all of my squares out on the table, per the pattern we were working off. It took awhile to make sure it was perfect- all the blocks lined up, all the fabric is the right direction, etc. While it was laid out on the table, I put pins on the far right block to make sure I would remember the proper pattern before I sewed it all together.

I sewed each block together individually, alternating ironing down the seams on the right and left for each row. It’s important to do that, because it makes the blocks lay much flatter in the final product because you’re not stuck with one huge seam at each intersection. I then spent the next two or so hours sewing, block to block, row to row. I finished it off by pressing the seams, and now I have a nice pretty quilt top.

I managed to get the seams to match up in the corners pretty well- most of them look like this, only a few are off 🙂

2 Responses to “Woohoo! It looks cool now!”

  1. Ashley September 20, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    YAY! It looks GREAT!

    are you going to make your little helper one next? my mom made max and monty their own little quilts and they love them.

  2. Mandy September 22, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    it’s looking great!!

Leave a Reply

