Block Party

17 Sep

I enjoy the actual cutting of blocks from the strips of fabric- the big piles of fabric begin to take the appearance of a quilt, which is quite rewarding. I made sure to spend a lot of time pressing my seams. Since all of my blocks have a dark strip of fabric in the center, I pressed the seams inward. That way, the seams won’t show through the lighter fabrics when it’s all put together. The seam on the right hand side, on the bottom strip, is how the full seams end up being pressed.

After completing all of the pressing, it was on to the cutting. I measured out each block to be 6.5 inches wide, which, in theory, should be the same as the height. It will allow for a final measurement of 6 inches with 1/4 inch seam allowances once the sewing is completed.

It’s a pretty important step to remember to let Charlotte wear a block as a hat.

After I cut all the blocks out, I arranged them on the floor per the pattern. It’s beginning to look like a quilt!

Next step – actually sewing those blocks together.

2 Responses to “Block Party”

  1. Danielle September 20, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Your posts are making me want to try a quilt! It involves my favorite thing about sewing – the fabrics!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recycling « She is a jack of all trades - October 3, 2010

    […] only does it look cute, I also got to do a little fabric recycling. When I cut the initial blocks, I actually had several of each color left over. I also had a few random scraps left of the border […]

Leave a Reply

